The Funk Underground

Funk in the 401

The Funk Underground is a hip hop group associated with Rhode Island hip hop collective Project 401, featuring members Eric Axelman, SydeSho, DeeJay Kellan, along with multiple instrumentalists including Maxx Millanova and Mike Wójcicki. We spend our time trying to represent the realness and beauty that is Hip Hop. We get down, and you get a good time.

New Album: "The Funk Underground" (2015)

Following several projects from Eric Axelman, SydeSho, and DeeJay Kellan, they figured it just made sense to make an album together. Serendipity is simple and beautiful. We are The Funk Underground.

Our first record as a group, The Funk Underground was recorded, mixed, and mastered by Peter Enriquez, with production from DeeJay Kellan, Loren Fulton, and Atto Pilot. The album also features a bunch of material from Messy Tye, the homie.

The Funk Underground is a Project 401 production.